Why Hello! Nice To Meet You, Here’s A Mixtape!

Let me start by saying, this is not the way I envisioned kicking this thing off, but due to feeling under the weather, my first post will be short and sweet. My name is Lauren and I am here to share all things crafty, cozy, sparkly, and positive, from DIY and craft projects to yummy recipes and pick-me-ups.

My tiny family currently consists of one husband and three pups—I love my little wolf pack! By day, I am a full-time marketing/communications professional at a Museum (which is amazing!), but by night I have dreams of fixing up the dated house we bought, upcycling furniture, creating crafty masterpieces, and more! I am sure we will get to know each other more soon enough, but for now you can read all you need to know about me on my “About Me” page.

mixtape

I digress, I had a rough day—but really, all Mondays are, right? I went to bed last night with a tummy bug and couldn’t kick it today. What resulted was a lot of rest, some low-key music, and tea. When I started my college career I was pulling double duty, majoring in Music Industry and Marketing, so naturally I have more music lying around than I know what to do with. I love it all, from classical cello and acoustic guitar to pizzicato and the finger-picking twang of a banjo.

Because I was so down and out today I was inspired by something I’m really looking forward to. My husband, let’s call him Mr. JD (because he’s a lawyer and worked his little butt off for his Juris Doctor), is taking me to see one of my favorite bands in just a few weeks for our anniversary. I have a theory that Ben Gibbard, of Death Cab for Cutie, should be a front man of a supergroup, if the supergroup was entirely made up of brilliant and creative lyricists/musicians that wear plaid and have had their heart broken one too many times.

As terrible as this sounds, I guess I should be thanking Zooey Deschanel for parting ways with her now ex-husband and current frontman of Death Cab for Cutie, Ben Gibbard. He has admitted a lot of their most recent album, Kintsugi, is inspired by their divorce along with other strong emotional and societal themes. It’s amazing, my favorite track is embedded above. Also, Mr. JD and my song is, “I Will Follow You Into The Dark” and we are finally going to hear it live as we celebrate five years of marriage together.

  1. Death Cab For Cutie – “Ghosts of Beverly Drive”
  2. Death Cab For Cutie – “I Will Follow You Into The Dark”
  3. Best Coast – “Feeling Okay”
  4. As Tall As Lions – “Love, Love, Love”
  5. Iron & Wine – “Such Great Heights” – in fact, a Postal Service cover, another one of Ben Gibbard’s projects.

Click here to open the Mixtape Monday playlist.

Enjoy this very mellow, Mixtape Monday y’all.

Leave a Reply

