Easy 30 Minute Vegan Fajitas!

VeganFajitas

Enough of Taco Tuesday–where did that even come from? We’re doing Vegan Fajita Tuesday. Not alliterative, still awesome though.

I’ll be the first to admit that when it comes to cooking, if I can take a shortcut, I will—especially because my husband is a meat eater and I am not. This means I often to have to make a meat-filled and meatless version of whatever we decide to eat for dinner. I have found that there are some cuisines that lend itself to vegan food; Thai and Indian food (obviously) and Mexican food works well too. Mr. JD is a meat and potatoes kind of guy, he’s scared of most cooked veggies so Thai and Indian are off the table. He’s just not that adventurous; I put a piece of broccoli on his plate one time and he gave it to the the dog.

So…Mexican it is. I can replace meat with beans or tofu and skip the dairy and still have a tasty meal. On nights when I don’t have to work the next day I don’t mind taking an hour and change to make dinner, but for this I buy some things that help me cut my prep and cooking time down–thank you pre-cut, organic frozen peppers from Trader Joe’s.

Follow the directions and ingredients below and enjoy!

IMG_20150915_192352

Fajita Seasoning

  • 2 tbs. Chili Powder
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 1 tsp. Paprika
  • 1 tsp. Cane Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. Garlic
  • 1/2 tsp. Cayenne Pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. Red Pepper Flakes (if you like it spicy!)
  • 1/2 tsp. Cumin

Additional

  • 1/2 package of Trader Joe’s organic frozen bell/sweet peppers
  • 1 Onion
  • 1/3 Block of Tofu (I prefer extra firm organic from Trader Joe’s)
  • 3 tbs. Olive Oil
  • Flour Tortillas (I use the small ones)
  • Taco Rice
  • Vegetarian Refried Beans
  • 1 Large Tomato
  • Medium Salsa
  • Guacamole (you can buy it or use my favorite guacamole recipe on the Eco Friendly Family)

 IMG_20150915_183746

Directions

  • Add olive oil, frozen papers, and onion to a large skillet.
  • Cut up the tofu into small squares and add to the skillet. Cook until you have the desired texture. I like my tofu a little crispy so I cook it for awhile on medium-high.
  • Once you have the right consistency for your tofu, add the fajita seasoning and let it simmer on low while you prepare your rice, beans, and guacamole. I typically use one of the bags of rice I just have to boil to expedite the process. This time I added corn, lentils, and black beans because I have had a chronic headache all day, which usually means I am low on iron/protein.
  • Assemble your fajitas and enjoy!

This recipe makes enough for 3-4 people, but because I am the only veggie in the house I typically take leftovers for lunch (if I have time to eat lunch). The fajita mixture keeps pretty well for a few days in the refrigerator!

Leave a Reply

