Christmas in a Crock-Pot: Slower Cooker Apple Crisp!

Merry Christmas!
I have a confession to make: I fully support the Christmas Creep. There’s nothing I love more than that feeling you get around the holidays. I love seeing Christmas trees in the stores…the other day I saw this dinosaur Menorah on Etsy and I missed the beautiful temples back in New England. I just love the holidays; Christmas, Chanukah, Kwanzaa, Festivus—I love it all!

IMG_20151108_183349Above all, my favorite is this certain Christmas smell that reminds me of a combination of cinnamon, cold air, and a cozy home. It’s. my. favorite. So, of course, I decided to make the most cinnamon-y thing I could think of, Crock-Pot Apple Crisp.

Because I was making this for other people besides myself, I made it with caramel—however this can easily be made vegan with a few swaps.

Ingredients:

  • 4 Honeycrisp Apples (I don’t peel the skin because it’s good for you, but if you choose to use 5 apples)
  • 1/2 c. Maple Syrup
  • 3/4 c. Brown Sugar, parted into 1/2 c. and 1/4 c.
  • 2 Cinnamon Sticks
  • 3 tbs Cinnamon Powder
  • 2 tbs Nutmeg
  • 1/2 c. Flour
  • 1/2 c. Oats
  • 1/2 stick butter (swap out for 1/4 c. coconut oil if making vegan)
  • 1/2 bag caramel chips (or use this recipe for vegan caramel)

IMG_20151108_184516Directions:

  • Cut apples into small pieces and put into a bowl. Again, I keep the skins on because they are nutritious, but totally not a requirement.
  • Mix the 1/2 c. Maple Syrup, 1/2 Brown Sugar, Cinnamon Powder, Nutmeg, and a few caramel chips in the bowl with the apples and mix together. If you are using the vegan caramel throw in a few teaspoons.
  • In a separate bowl, add the 1/2 c. Flour, 1/2 c. Oats, Melted Butter (or coconut oil), and 1/2 bag caramel chips (or 1 c. vegan caramel sauce) and mix.
  • Add your apples to the bottom of your crock pot, add the oat mix to the top of the apples, then throw in the cinnamon sticks.
  • Turn your crock-pot onto low and cook for 4 hours. You can certainly cook it for less time than 4 hours if you like your apples a little more firm. Sadly, I have to cook the apples until they are about mush because I have a weird fruit allergy and can’t eat the apple skin unless its fully cooked.
  • Serve warm topped with frozen yogurt or coconut ice cream if you are staying vegan!

IMG_20151108_220014I love this recipe because I can make it vegan, I can literally toss everything into a slow cooker, and it smells like Christmas all day long. Also, it’s super tasty!

One thought on “Christmas in a Crock-Pot: Slower Cooker Apple Crisp!

Leave a Reply

