Furniture Flip: Vintage Night Stand

Title-2It’s not too often I find something stellar for the right price at the thrift store down the street from where I live, but when I saw this cabinet I knew I had just met my new nightstand. It was vintage, solid wood, only a few warped parts that could easily be fixed, nice hardware and details—considering its size, for just $9.00 it was a steal.

IMG_20150517_144047

a92e0df36d8a8dc940e42165f6d114dc

Bedroom color inspiration found on Pinterest!

Because my bedroom isn’t finished, I had to finalize the color palate I would be using and then choose my colors from there. I knew I didn’t want a simple stain because I had this beautiful paper liner that would look great as a pop of color on something a little more muted.

The first step to getting a piece of furniture ready to flip is to study it. This particular piece needed some help due to water damage. The top was warped and the inside of the cabinet was a little warped as well. There was also some thick stain on it, which meant I needed to whip out my sand paper.

Here are all the steps I followed:

IMG_20150524_1442321) Because this piece was older, I had to wash all of the dust off and fix all of the warped pieces. This was easily fixed with some time and some wood glue.

2) Remove all of the hardware and the drawers from the body of the cabinet.
3) Sand. Depending on how many times something has been stained or what kind of paint is slapped on there, this could take awhile. I had a sanding block just lying around so that is what I used and it took a long, long time. I recommend using a hand sander if at all possible. Especially for a bigger piece of furniture.

IMG_20150524_1553304) Paint away! The paint I selected had a sealant in it, so I didn’t have to worry too much about a million layers of paint and a top coat to seal it. I gave the entire body and drawers two coats and let it dry.

5) While I waited for the paint to dry, I took a pizza box, tossed all of the hardware inside, and then took my coral spray paint and managed to coat all the hardware. This actually takes more time than paining because the hinges and handles are moving pieces. Dry. flip. dry. flip. repeat.

IMG_20150524_2121226) I grabbed the thick paper liner I got from Home Goods on clearance and measured out what I would need to line the inside of the drawer and the cabinet. All you will need is a ruler, an exacto knife, wood glue or rubber cement. When you go to glue the liner to the cabinet, make sure you are in a dry area—too much moisture and the paper will wrinkle. Additionally, once the liner is fastened, use the ruler and gently scape it across the drying liner to force out any wrinkles or air bubbles.

7) Once everything is completely dry, reassemble everything and clean! There you have it, your new cabinet/nightstand.

I absolutely loved the finished product and it ended up being the perfect height for a nightstand. The little details and the vintage hardware were exactly what I was looking for. The quirky colors will be perfect in my bed room and this project was far cheaper than buying a boring nightstand.

Here’s the math:

  • Nightstand: $9
  • Liner: $3
  • Paint: $6
  • Spray Paint: $3

IMG_20150528_205751

For a grand total of $21 as opposed to the $175  one I had my eye on, this was a great investment, is totally unique to my house, and almost completely upcycled!

 

Leave a Reply

