Vegan Three Bean Sweet Potato Chili!

VEGAN THREE BEAN SWEET POTATOCHILLI

IMG_20151122_175730Real talk…I just ate cereal and almond milk for dinner, but we’re here to talk about last night’s dinner! I made some supremely delicious, flavorful, and easy Vegan Three Bean Sweet Potato Chili. My in-laws have family dinner once a month and if I thought I could get away with feeding them something vegan, I would totally make this because it’s hearty, makes enough for a big family, and is really filling.

IMG_20151122_180435In the land of Cincinnati Chili, which I hear is made with cinnamon, chocolate, or a combination of the two (served over spaghetti), there are any number of fast-food style chili places to enjoy a bowl, like Skyline Chili. I’ve never eaten at one of these places, frankly, I would rather eat a giant bloody steak before I patronized one of these chili places, which is why I make my own.

IMG_20151122_181620The sweet potatoes, beans, brown rice, and vegan crumbles provide plenty of protein, so as a veggie this is something great to eat when I feel like my iron and protein is low.

 

 

IMG_20151122_192141Ingredients:

  • Chili powder – if you’re in a pinch I use Chili-O, but if I have time I love this recipe from Whole New Mom.
  • 2 cans of chili beans
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 1 can of light red kidney beans
  • 2 cans of chili ready tomatos
  • 1 can of stewed tomatoes
  • 1.4 c. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 3 tbs. hot sauce
  • 1 tsp garlic.
  • brown rice
  • Morning star meatless crumbles
  • 1 large sweet potato

Directions: 

  • Add beans, tomatoes, chili powder, brown sugar, pepper flakes, hot sauce, and garlic to a large pot and mix it all together. Set on medium low or toss it in a crock-pot on medium. I typically don’t drain the beans or tomatoes because when you add rice is absorbs some of the liquid and you need at least a little or else it will burn.
  • Peel and chop up your sweet potato into small chunks and toss these into your pot/slow cooker along with your frozen veggie crumbles.
  • If you are cooking in a pot, let the mixture simmer for 1 hour, if you are using a slow cooker, set it on medium or low for 3 hours.
  • Once your sweet potatoes are just about firm add the uncooked rice. The rice will cook right in the pot and thicken your chili. This will take about another half hour in a pot or an hour in a crock pot.

IMG_20151122_192239If you are into not being strictly vegan (which most of my friends aren’t) I usually provide plain greek yogurt to top off the chili in lieu of sour cream.

 

The meal is perfect for the cold weather and it’s packed with fiber, protein, and flavor. Also it smells really good and is easy to cook in a cock pot—bonus points!

Leave a Reply

