Sugar, Spice, and Everything Nice…

When I was a little girl my mom drilled it into my head that I was never allowed to use the fact that I was a girl as an excuse. There was no excuse–why of course, I should be one of the only girls in the advanced math class, learning to ice skate with hockey skates? no problem, earning one of my high school’s only scholar-athlete scholarships–absolutely—why does it have to go to a boy?

This explains why I spend the majority of high school with bruised legs (I played a lot of soccer), studying like failing was never an option, and the amount of guys in my college classes never intimidated me. It turns out businesses degrees aren’t exclusively for men after all! Both my sister and I have one!

Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 10.32.41 PM

Little Miss Copeland Busting a Move!

My mom was one of the only female corporate lawyers at her company in the 80’s…which was a big deal. It was an even bigger deal that she beat out a lot of guys in her law school to grab the top spot in her graduating class. Even with all of her amazing credentials, she’s still had to deal with hurtles—as most girls and women do.

It stings to work so hard to know your male counterparts make more money, or when you’re in high school and the football team gets new uniforms even though your soccer team has an exponentially better record from season to season. At the end of the day, I think the best thing we can do for our friends, daughters, students, and little girls everywhere is to empower them to be strong, capable women—because smart capable women are a force to be reckoned with.

So moms, mentors, teachers, and friends, I encourage you to share this video with your daughters. If young girls know their potential is limitless, there is no reason they can’t be wildly successful and this video demonstrates that. Plus, I loves me some women in STEM, H-dog, the Notorious RBG, and my entire women’s world cup team!

 

When young girls participate in behaviors like gossiping, name calling, etc., that means they have negative energy that could be better spent on positive things and feeds into a stereotype that translates into adulthood. I know girls my age and younger (and sometimes older) who think they are grown and “accomplished”, but their attitude and their affinity to be snarky and make other people feel small proves otherwise. Imagine what could happen if girls and women stopped with the negative energy and replaced it with achieving goals while smashing negative stereotypes.

0e750da40d779942604bd758a7a0e23d

The more we encourage young girls and women to break glass ceilings while busting stereotypes, the more our culture will have to change to accommodate things like equal pay, representation in STEM jobs, and much–much more! Let’s teach our daughters they can do anything, from running the country to becoming the first African American principal ballerina! It’s been a long time coming for so many of these things!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Sugar, Spice, and Everything Nice…

  1. The more we emphasize the importance of STEM, the more we send the message that “STEM, or you’re a useless being.”.

    I agree that gender is a stupid limiter. We should go full meritocratic – judged by our skills, not our gender. I don’t get why the focus is so heavily on STEM, though. There’s more to life than that. STEM hasn’t solved the suicide crisis, so maybe we should open up the gates and tell people they have more choices than Stereotypical Woman or STEM.

    Like

    • I must disagree. I work at in marketing at a science and technology center and one of the biggest things being pushed right now in terms of programming and funding is getting more girls in STEM. Statistics tell us that by 2018 the majority of jobs will require technical skills and girls now don’t consider themselves smart enough to be successful in these careers. Of course, noone can force you into STEM and you certainly aren’t worthless if you choose a different career path, but more and more all jobs require these skills and we should want ask girls to be successful and gainfully employed… Not underrepresented in any facet of the national and global workforce and marketplace. Only 1 out of every 18 girls are engineers and a lot of that is due to the fact that society imparts the idea on young girls that math and science are challenging and it’s a guy thing. Do medical professionals not work on solving mental health issues? That’s STEM… There are no stereotypical STEM jobs for women because women are underrepresented. Additionally, I’m in marketing and while I don’t have a typical STEM Career, I used STEM principals every day at work. I was hired because i have a BS And not a BA. Why would we not want our girls to get in on some of the highest paying and fastest growing jobs in the world???

      Like

      • My criticism is more to do with general praise of STEM than with gender. I do agree that we need to encourage women that they can be anything, that gender roles don’t mean a thing.

        Although, perhaps, I’m calling the problem by its wrong name. Maybe the problem is not so much the STEM fields themselves, but an education system that kills the brain and takes IQ scores seriously.

        Like

Leave a Reply

