Mixtape Monday! Home Sweet Home.

Fall is my favorite season, but there’s something really special about the Spring. Seeing little sprouts in the ground, all the kids playing outside, and preparing my house for warmer seasons makes me so happy.

Home

Our home. It’s a work in progress.

This past weekend was all about spring cleaning, especially our yard. It was a resolution of mine to put a ton of effort into our home this year in order to get our house just how we want it—the yard, the rooms, everything. I spend a lot of time wishing there were more minutes in the day to work on all of the projects we have in our house. My friends keep telling me there will always be projects and not to rush, but I can’t help it—I want them done, like yesterday.

I spent a lot of time thinking about exactly why I feel this way and I realized that it is because my parents lost my childhood home. It was truly a magical place to live; hyacinths hugging the wrap around porch in the Spring, pocket walls with vintage glass, 125-year-old hardwood floors, the perfect Christmas tree window. No matter how messy life was at the time, the one consistent was my cozy, magical home. Unfortunately, I haven’t had a place that I knew I was going to spend more than a few years in since I was 19. My husband is really the only constant “home” I’ve had in the last 8 years and yes, home can be places or people, after all. ❤

Now, I am exceedingly proud to be a home owner. As a millennial, statistics show that I am technically supposed to be a renter forever. I mean, I know people who have their parents covering some of their rent or their parents helped them generously with a down payment or partial payment on their house. My husband and I bought our house, we saved to cover a heaping chunk that went into our down payment and we are responsible for *every. single. cent.* of our mortgage. We even moved all by ourselves (big mistake, actually, next time we are hiring movers). A lot of my peers can’t say the same thing, I mean, look at my parents! However, while I am proud that we accomplished this huge thing, we have awhile until this place feels like it’s ours.

mixtape

Click to play.

In the meantime, while I chronicle our projects on Moxie and Spark, you can enjoy this Mix Tape Monday with my favorite songs about home.

  • Edward Sharp and the Magnetic Zeros – “Home”
  • Mr. Twin Sister – “I Want a House”
  • Ben Gibbard – “You Remind Me of Home”
  • Bright Eyes – “First Day of My Life”
  • Death Cab For Cutie – “You are a Tourist”
  • Something Corporate – “Konstantine”
  • Feist – “Musaboom”

Click here to play on Spotify.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

