Chocolate Chip Walnut Banana Bread

Chocolate Chip WalnutI have a confession: I am a banana horder. I buy a bunch every week to put into smoothies, eat in oatmeal, etc. With work being so crazy recently I barely have time to do anything in the morning, so I end up with a bunch of leftover bananas that I intended to eat for breakfast, in some capacity, over the week. (Coffee counts as breakfast, right?)

By the weekend these bananas are brown, which is the perfect time to make banana bread. Naturally, I grabbed some really ripe bananas and went to it!

Ingredients

  • 3 super ripe bananas
  • 1/3 melted butter (I used vegan butter)
  • 3/4 c. sugar (you can use white, I used organic cane)
  • 1 egg (My co-worked gifted me some eggs from her tiny farm)
  • 1 1/2 c. flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tbs. vanilla
  • sea salt
  • 1/2 c. semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 walnuts

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray a loaf pan with cooking spray, I recommend coconut oil cooking spray.
  • Mash those bananas until they are no longer chunky, then add the butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla. Stir until all mixed together.
  • Add the flour in to banana mixture a little at a time while stirring and mix completely.
  • Next add in the baking soda and salt, mix completely.
  • Fold in the chocolate chips and walnuts.
  • Pour mix into loaf pan and bake at 350 for 40-50 minutes.
  • You will know your loaf is finished because it will firm up in the middle and you won’t get any batter on a tooth pick when you poke the middle of the cake.
  • Let cool for 45 minutes and cut.

This is great for bake sales, carry ins, or Sunday breakfast and of course, bananas are good every day!

Leave a Reply

